Feeling lucky?     Search     Sign up / Login  
Venture Stories on Smash Notes

Venture Stories podcast.

December 28, 2019

Venture Stories by Village Global takes you inside the world of venture capital and technology, featuring enlightening interviews with entrepreneurs, investors and tech industry leaders. The podcast is hosted by Village Global partner and co-founder Erik Torenberg and produced by Brett Bolkowy. Check us out on the web at villageglobal.vc/podcast for more.



Episodes with Smash Notes

Pete Flint (@peteflint), partner at NFX, joins Erik on this episode. It was recorded as part of an On Deck Angels event. They discuss:

- Pete’s journey from Trulia to investor.

- Why over time he became less focused on the idea and strategy of a...

Delian Asparouhov (@zebulgar) of Varda and Founders Fund, and Chris Power (@2112Power), founder and CEO of Hadrian, join Erik on this episode to discuss:

- What they're working on and how they're bringing tech to industrial manufacturing.

- How...

Mercedes Bent (@mercebent), partner at Lightspeed, joins Erik and co-host Anne Dwane to discuss:

- What Mercedes and the EdTech space in general learned from General Assembly, a company ahead of its time.

- Her market map of EdTech and why she...

Andrew Wilkinson (@awilkinson) co-founder of Tiny, was interviewed by Andrew Barry of On Deck at a special event. They discussed:

- His start as a designer and how great product and design became the common thread that runs through the businesses...

Richard Vedder, author of Restoring The Promise: Higher Education in America, joins Erik to discuss:

- The origins of the myth that higher education is the key to career success.

- The unintended consequences of student loans, including the fact...

Yasmin Razavi (@yasminrazavi), GP at Spark Growth, and Alex Bouaziz (@ Bouazizalex), founder of Deel, join Erik on this episode to discuss:

- The story of the founding of Deel and the "why now" for the business.

- Advice for hiring remotely, and...

Kelly Hook (@KellyHook), program director of the On Deck Customer Success program, joins Erik on this episode to discuss:

- How she got into customer success.

- How the field of customer success got its start, just 25 years ago.

- Common...

Ali Tamaseb (@alitamaseb), investor at DCVC and author of Super Founders: What Data Reveals About Billion-Dollar Startups joins Erik to discuss:

- His learnings from gathering data on unicorns and comparing them to a random selection of startups...

Scott Belsky (@scottbelsky), angel investor and Chief Product Officer at Adobe, joined Erik for an On Deck Angels event to discuss:

- How he came to make his first investments in Uber and Pinterest.

- How his thinking on investing has evolved...

Andrew Yu (@andrewcyu), who is running the On Deck Product Management program, joins Erik on this episode to discuss:

- His non-traditional route to becoming a product manager. (Fun fact: He recently worked on the Biden campaign and inauguration)....

Rex Woodbury (@rex_woodbury) of Index Ventures joins Erik on this episode to discuss:

- Where he’s looking to invest in the creator economy.

- Why authenticity and vulnerability are replacing performative and status-driven social media.

- The...

Katherine Boyle (@KTmBoyle), partner at General Catalyst, joins Erik on this episode recorded as part of an event for Villagers. Due to technical difficulties, Mustafa Khan, part of the team at Village Global, conducted the first part of the...