Feeling lucky?     Search     Sign up / Login  
Venture Stories on Smash Notes

Venture Stories podcast.

December 28, 2019

Venture Stories by Village Global takes you inside the world of venture capital and technology, featuring enlightening interviews with entrepreneurs, investors and tech industry leaders. The podcast is hosted by Village Global partner and co-founder Erik Torenberg and produced by Brett Bolkowy. Check us out on the web at villageglobal.vc/podcast for more.



Episodes with Smash Notes

In this extended episode of Venture Stories, Erik interviews Tyler Cowen (@tylercowen), professor of economics at George Mason University. They discuss about a wide range of topics, including Tyler’s book Stubborn Attachments, the value of watching...

Gabby Dizon (@gabusch), co-founder of Yield Guild Games, and Linda Xie (@ljxie), co-founder of Scalar Capital, join Erik Torenberg and Lucas Bagno on this episode to discuss:

- Why Gabby started YGG and the evolution of play-to-earn and blockchain...

Erik is joined by Zach Perret (@zachperret), co-founder and CEO of Plaid, and David Haber (@dhaber), former co-founder and CEO of Bond Street, now at Goldman Sachs.

Zach and David talk about how they met and how they started their respective...

Elad Gil (@eladgil), entrepreneur and investor, and Kevin Hartz (@kevinhartz), investor and co-founder of Eventbrite, join Erik on this episode.

They discuss:

- What they think is special about each other’s investing abilities.

- How certain...

We're re-releasing some of the best episodes from the podcast this summer.

We were thrilled to host a masterclass roundtable session for our founders with John Donahoe when he was CEO of ServiceNow. John is now CEO of Nike and was CEO of eBay for...

We’re re-releasing some of the best episodes from the podcast this summer.

On this special live episode of Venture Stories, Bill Gates was interviewed in 2018 at San Francisco’s Exploratorium by Julia Hartz, co-founder and CEO of Eventbrite.

We...

We're re-releasing some of the best episodes from the podcast this summer.

Erik and co-host Anuj Abrol (@nujabrol) interviewed Keith Rabois (@rabois).

Keith starts out by talking about why he joined Founders Fund and the reason that the...

Erik is joined on this episode by Mike Maples (@m2jr) of Floodgate.

The discuss:

- The difference between fake growth and real growth, and how to know which one your company is experiencing.

- Why fake growth has taken hold in so many...

We're re-releasing some of the best episodes from the podcast this summer.

This episode was recorded in front of a live audience in San Francisco, featuring Tyler Cowen (@tylercowen), professor of economics at George Mason University and Eric...

We're re-releasing some of the best episodes from the podcast this summer.

Chamath Palihapitiya (@chamath), CEO of Social Capital, and Reid Hoffman (@reidhoffman), partner at Greylock, joined Village Global co-founder and partner Ben Casnocha at a...

We're re-releasing some of the best episodes from the podcast this summer.

Sarah Tavel (@sarahtavel), partner at Benchmark, and Nabeel Hyatt (@nabeel), partner at Spark Capital, joined Erik on this episode.

They discussed:

- Why they love...

Ramit Sethi (@ramitsethi), founder and CEO of I Will Teach You To Be Rich, joined Ben Casnocha to discuss:

- Ramit’s philosophy of personal finance. He says he focuses on $30,000 questions as opposed to $3 questions because there’s no limit on how...